What can I make with yarn?

Hmmmm…… good question right?

Chances are, you already know the answer.

You might say afghans, hats, sweaters, scarves, and slippers to name few.  That is true, and yet there is so much more.

Coming up with different patterns and pieces is part of my purpose as I present this new site and blog.  I first learned how to crochet as a child by my grandmother.  I recall watching her crochet, knit, quilt, and sew when visiting, and I always wanted her to teach me.  One day, I was so excited when she did.  She taught me the simple chain stitch, and for months I would spend time making chains… long, short, different colors, it didn’t matter.

As I perfected the chain stitch, my grandmother taught me the single crochet stitch.  After perfecting that, I was taught additional stitches until I finally learned the traditional granny square.

Eventually I made my first afghan.  I wish I had a picture of it.  Maybe one day I will come across it.  I will be sure to post it if I do.  It was not pretty, with its multiple colored squares, but it was mine… I made it, I was proud, my mom was proud, and my grandmother was proud!

As I grew older, I didn’t really spend much time crocheting anymore.  Every once in a while I’d pick it up again but it wasn’t often.  Once I picked it up for a show and tell in my elementary school 4H club.

I got married, finished college earning 3 different degrees, and focused a lot more on my career goals then my hobby.  The only time I got back into it after marriage was over ten years ago.  I volunteered to make an afghan to be raffled off for a benefit supporting a cancer patient.  It was a third prize in that raffle.  I’m quite positive I have a picture of that afghan, and I will do my best to locate it and post.  It wasn’t a fancy afghan, but it was quite a bit more professional than my first one.

I have always wanted to be more persistent with picking up crocheting again.  Sometimes, I keep myself up at night thinking about different things I can make.  I think of those same simple things I mentioned in the beginning of this post… afghans, hats, clothes, scarves, slippers, along with other random unique things.  I would imagine, making different unique and traditional items.  Posting pictures of them, sharing my experience, my patterns, and offering to sell to the public my handmade quality work online.

And now today, that day has come where I am turning that dream into a reality.  My marriage is still going strong, we have made it through many tough times within 13 years we have been married.  Those times made us so strong that married life can’t get in the way of either of my dreams.  Professionally, I am at a point in my career in which I am finally not stressed, overworked, or unsettled.  Nothing can hold me back now!  Within this site, I will showcase my work as I dedicate some personal time to crocheting (my late grandmother staying on my mind) like I always wanted.

I hope you enjoy!

Noelie

Leave a Reply

